What are the rules of Treaty 6?

What are the rules of Treaty 6?

The terms of Treaty 6 gave every family of five living on the reserve one square mile. Smaller families received land according to the size of their family. Each person immediately received CA$12 and an additional $5 a year.

What did Treaty 6 include?

In exchange for Indigenous title to their land (see Indigenous Territory), Treaty 6 provided: an annual cash payment of $25 per chief; $15 per headman and $5 for all other band members; a one-time cash payment of $12 for each band member; and reserve lands in the amount of one mile 2 (about 2.5 km 2) per family of five …

What provinces is Treaty 6 territory in?

Treaty No. 6 was signed on August 23, 1876 at Fort Carlton in Saskatchewan. The total area of the Treaty stretches from western Alberta, through Saskatchewan and into Manitoba; and includes 50 First Nations. Provisions in the Treaty recognize the notion of the medicine chest as well as the right to education.

Who lived on Treaty 6 territory?

Treaty 6 encompasses 17 First Nations in central Alberta including the Dene Suliné, Cree, Nakota Sioux and Saulteaux peoples. Treaties are the law of the land in the relationship between First Nations and the rest of Canada.

How do you acknowledge a Treaty 6 territory?

An Opportunity to Enhance Traditional Cultural Values. “As we gather here today, we acknowledge we are on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis. We pay our respect to the First Nations and Métis ancestors of this place and reaffirm our relationship with one another.”

How did Treaty 6 affect First Nations?

The First Nations interpreted the loss of the buffalo to be the “general famine” covered under the famine clause of Treaty 6, and many observers in the North-West agreed. But the Canadian government insisted that its grudging distribution of rations was a matter of favour, not a treaty obligation.

Is Métis part of Treaty 6?

Saskatoon is located on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis.

Is all of Edmonton on Treaty 6 land?

The City of Edmonton acknowledges the traditional land on which we reside, is in Treaty Six Territory.

How do Canadians benefit from treaty rights?

Treaties provide a framework for living together and sharing the land Indigenous peoples traditionally occupied. These agreements provide foundations for ongoing co-operation and partnership as we move forward together to advance reconciliation.

Is Red Deer a Treaty 6?

Recognition of Treaty Territories The City of Red Deer acknowledges the Indigenous traditional territories represented by Treaty 6 and 7 as the land The City is situated on.

How much of British Columbia is unceded?

Ninety-five percent
Ninety-five percent of British Columbia, including Vancouver, is on unceded traditional First Nations territory. Unceded means that First Nations people never ceded or legally signed away their lands to the Crown or to Canada.

What Indigenous land is Edmonton in?

Edmonton is located within Treaty 6 Territory and within the Métis homelands and Métis Nation of Alberta Region 4. We acknowledge this land as the traditional territories of many First Nations such as the Nehiyaw (Cree), Denesuliné (Dene), Nakota Sioux (Stoney), Anishinaabe (Saulteaux) and Niitsitapi (Blackfoot).

What treaty land Am I Edmonton?

Treaty 6 territory
Everyone’s Canada acknowledges that its main office is in Edmonton, which is located on Treaty 6 territory, the traditional lands of First Nations and Métis people.

Related Posts