Which teams played in the 2011 AFL Grand Final?

Which teams played in the 2011 AFL Grand Final?

The 2011 AFL Grand Final was an Australian rules football game contested between the Collingwood Football Club and the Geelong Football Club, held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 1 October 2011.

Who was in the 2011 grand final?

It was played between the Manly Warringah Sea Eagles and the New Zealand Warriors on the afternoon of Sunday, 2 October, and it was the first time the two sides have met in a grand final. Manly won the match, 24–10, for the club’s eighth premiership.

Who played in Geelong 2011 grand final?

On October 1, 2011, Geelong defeated Collingwood in a spirited Grand Final that was played before a crowd of 99,537 spectators at the MCG.

When did Geelong last won a grand final?

Geelong has a proud history, having won nine AFL and seven VFA premierships in its history. The Cats tasted success in 1925, 1931, 1937, 1951, 1952, 1963, 2007, 2009 and 2011. The club has also won flags at other levels, including the night cup, reserves, under 19 and VFA/VFL.

When did the 2011 AFL Draft take place?

The 2011 Pre-season and Rookie Drafts were held on 7 December 2010, with another 80 players being selected. Greater Western Sydney had the first eight selections in the Rookie Draft as part of its draft concessions. The 2011 NAB Cup featured the addition of two new teams, Gold Coast and Greater Western Sydney.

Who won the 2011 AFL Grand Final?

It was the debut year for Gold Coast, and was scheduled to be the only season to be played with 17 teams. Geelong beat Collingwood in the 2011 AFL Grand Final by 38 points. The season opened on 24 March 2011, with Carlton defeating Richmond at the Melbourne Cricket Ground .

What happened in Round 1 of the 1991 AFL season?

Adelaide commemorated 20 years since joining the AFL with a rematch against Hawthorn, its opponent in round 1 of its inaugural 1991 season. The Crows won the game, as they did in 1991. The draw between Sydney and Melbourne was the first opening round draw since 1982.

Who was the Best Young Player of the 2011 AFL Draft?

The Best Young Player Award was given to Nat Fyfe of Fremantle. The issue of betting became prominent during the 2011 season. The previous few years had seen other sports compromised by major spot-fixing scandals – most notably the Pakistan cricket spot-fixing controversy – so the issue was already well publicised at the time.

Related Posts