How do I file for divorce in Rock County WI?

How do I file for divorce in Rock County WI?

You have two options: one of you can complete the forms and file the divorce petition alone, or you and your spouse can file the divorce petition jointly. If you choose to file on your own, you must complete the Summons, Petition, Confidential Petition Addendum, and Financial Disclosure Statement.

How do I file a restraining order in Rock County WI?

Restraining Orders

  1. You are encouraged to file electronically at under eFile/eCourts.
  2. Legal assistance and information can be found at for the public/self-help law center.
  3. For those unable to file electronically, forms can be picked up at the Security Station at the Courthouse.

How do I get a marriage license in Rock County WI?

Rock County applicants apply at: Rock County Clerk’s Office 51 S. Main Street, 2nd Floor Janesville, WI 53545 Monday through Friday, by appointment. If the parties are applying for a marriage license in a different Wisconsin county, please contact that county for location, application times and fees.

How long do you have to be separated before divorce in Wisconsin?

How long do you have to be separated before divorce in Wisconsin? Wisconsin has a 120-day waiting period until a legal separation or a divorce is granted by the court. Parties can reconcile at any point during this waiting period.

What is considered harassment in Wisconsin?

(a) Strikes, shoves, kicks or otherwise subjects the person to physical contact or attempts or threatens to do the same. (b) Engages in a course of conduct or repeatedly commits acts which harass or intimidate the person and which serve no legitimate purpose.

How much does a restraining order cost in Wisconsin?

12. Will it cost money to get a restraining order? It is free to file a petition for a domestic abuse restraining order. The court will not charge a filing fee and the sheriff will not charge to serve the paperwork on the respondent (Wis.

How do you get married at the courthouse in Wisconsin?

You and your betrothed need to go down to the local county clerk’s office together with your photo ID and official birth certificate at least 6 days, but not more than 30 days, before your wedding ceremony. Bring cash or check to pay the marriage license fee, which varies by county, but is approximately $50 to $110.

How much is a marriage license in Rock County Wisconsin?

The license fee is $100 payable by cash, money order, local check, or debit/credit card. Payment is due upon application and is non-refundable. Service fees will be charged for any payment made by debit/credit card. Out of town checks are not accepted when applying for a marriage license.

Can I remarry if I am not divorced?

Getting married to someone before their divorce is finalized, even if you didn’t know they were still married, constitutes bigamy. Bigamy is a federal crime and is illegal in all states; however, certain states, like Utah, have very lax rules on bigamy.

How much is a wife entitled to in a divorce near Wisconsin?

What is a wife entitled to in a divorce in Wisconsin? According to Wisconsin’s property division laws, a wife is entitled to half of the marital property. Exceptions are made for separate property that was given to one spouse or inherited by them.

Is verbal abuse a crime in Wisconsin?

Is Verbal Abuse a Crime in Wisconsin? The answer is that it can be.

How much is a courthouse wedding in Wisconsin?

The marriage license fee is $110 payable at the time of filing an application and is non-refundable. We accept cash and credit/debit cards. There is a convenience fee of 3% for all credit/debit card transactions. Personal checks are not accepted.

Related Posts