What is shore-based maintenance?

What is shore-based maintenance?

Shore-based maintenance is the provision of the most convenient, fast and high-quality service of out-of-service equipment in the near convenient ports, in accordance with the requirements of the administration and the classification society.

What is the GMDSS functional requirements?

Every vessel during at sea has to be capable of performing the nine radio-communication functions of the GMDSS, viz: – Transmission of ship-to-shore distress alerts by at least two separate and independent means, each using a different radio-communication service.

What is sea area A1?

Sea area A1 is that sea area which is within a circle of radius A nautical miles over which the radio propagation path lies substantially over water.

What is the basic concept of GMDSS?

The GMDSS is an automated ship to shore system using satellites and digital selective calling technology. The GMDSS is mandated for ships internationally by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) Safety of Life at Sea Convention (SOLAS), 1974, as amended in 1988, and carries the force of an international treaty.

What is Resolution A 702 17?

1. ADOPTS the Guidelines for Ensuring the Availability of Radio Equipment for Ships Engaged on Voyages in Sea Areas A3 and A4 Required by Regulation IV/15.7 of the 1974 SOLAS Convention, as Amended in 1988, set out in the annex to the present resolution: 2.

What is Gmdss distress communication?

Global Maritime Distress and Safety System (GMDSS) is the internationally agreed-upon set of safety procedures, types of equipment and communication protocols used to increase safety and make it easier to rescue all distressed ships, boats and aircrafts.

What are the 9 functions or carriage requirements of GMDSS?

The GMDSS is designed to perform 9 functions:

  • Transmission of ship to shore distress alerts by two separate and independent means.
  • Reception of shore to ship distress alerts.
  • Transmission and reception of ship to ship distress alerts.
  • Transmission and reception of SAR coordinating communications.

What is sea area A1 A2 and A3?

sea area A1: within range of shore-based VHF DSC coast station (40 nautical miles) sea area A2: within range of shore-based MF DSC coast station (40 to 150 nautical miles) sea area A3: within the coverage of an Inmarsat geostationary satellite (approximately 70°N to 70°S, excluding sea areas A1 and A2)

What are the 4 GMDSS sea areas?

The GMDSS operates over 4 sea areas of coverage from shore to ship. The 4 sea areas are classified as: A1, A2, A3 and A4. Sea area A1: Covered by VHF radio enabling Digital Selective Calling (DSC) and Radio Telephone (RT). Determined range of approximately 20-30 nautical miles.

What is HF on scene radiotelephony frequencies SAR?

2. MF/HF radio installation for distress and safety communications on the frequency bands between 1,605 kHz and 4,000 kHz and between 4,000 kHz and 27,500 kHz, using DSC, radiotelephony and direct-printing telegraphy.

What are the 4 sea areas of GMDSS?

What are the 3 components of GMDSS?

The different elements of GMDSS are as follows: It provides telex, telephone and data transfer services between ship-to-ship, ship to shore, and shore to ship along with a priority telex and telephone service connected to shore rescue centres.

What are the 4 sea areas?

The 4 sea areas are classified as: A1, A2, A3 and A4.

  • Sea area A1: Covered by VHF radio enabling Digital Selective Calling (DSC) and Radio Telephone (RT).
  • Sea area A2: Covered by MF radio also enabling DSC and RT.


Digital Selective Calling (DSC) DSC is a mandatory equipment both for coast stations included in the GMDSS system, and for ships making voyages in any navigation areas. Primarily, DSC is designed to set up ship-to-ship, ship-to-shore and shore-to-ship radiotelephone and MF/HF radiotelex calls.

Is there a SOLAS Convention on ship safety?

This is the only in the SOLAS Convention that does not directly touch on the safety aspect of any types of ships. Instead, it makes mandatory the IMO Member State Audit Scheme starting 1 January 2016.

What is the safety of life at sea 1974 convention?

SOLAS 1974 Convention or the Safety Of Life At Sea is an international agreement between flag states which sets standards on different aspects of maritime safety. By far, it is the most important of all international conventions related to shipping.

Is shore-based maintenance of the GMDSS always necessary?

3.2 It should be recognised that, despite the use of other methods, some reliance on shore-based maintenance to ensure the availability of the functional requirements of the GMDSS will always be necessary.

What is Chapter 5 of the Convention on international maritime law?

Chapter V identifies certain navigation safety services which should be provided by Contracting Governments and sets forth provisions of an operational nature applicable in general to all ships on all voyages. This is in contrast to the Convention as a whole, which only applies to certain classes of ship engaged on international voyages.

Related Posts