Who are the 14 tribes of Nagaland?

Who are the 14 tribes of Nagaland?

(i) Angami, (ii) Ao, (iii) Chakhesang, (iv) Chang, (v) Chirr, (vi) Khiemnungan, (vii) Konyak, (viii) Lotha, (ix) Makware, (x) Phom, (xi) Rengma, (xii) Sangtam, (xiii) Sema, (xiv) Tikhir, (xv) Yimchungre, and (xvi) Zeliang. Subsequently, in 1991 Census, Pochury Naga was added and their number shown separately.

How many tribes are there in Nagaland?

The State consists of 16 (Sixteen) Administrative Districts, inhabited by 17 major tribes along with other sub-tribes. Each tribe is distinct in character from the other in terms of customs, language and dress.

Which is the most popular tribe in Nagaland?

Tribes in Nagaland

  • Angami. One of the major tribal communities of Nagaland is the Angami Tribe.
  • Ao. The Ao is one of the major Naga tribes and they occupy the territory from Tsula (Dikhu) Valley in the east to Tsurang (Disai) Valley in the west in Mokokchung district.
  • Chakhesang.
  • Chang.
  • Khiamniungan.
  • Konyak.
  • Kuki.
  • Lotha.

Which is the strongest tribe in Nagaland?

The Konyak warrior tribe is one of the many Naga tribes. But what sets them apart from the rest of the tribes of this northeastern Indian state is their fierce headhunting history, which was part of their strong warrior tradition.

Which tribe is powerful in Nagaland?

The state of Nagaland is dominated by the Naga tribes, viz Ao, Sema, Angami, Chakhesang, Konyak, Khiammnungan, Lotha, Rengma, Pochuri, Sangtam, Yimchunger, Phom, and Zeliangrong [Zeme, Liangmei and Rongmei]. Apart from these, some Naga tribes settled in Nagaland state namely Tangkhul, Mao etc.

What is Hmar tribe?

The Hmars are an indigenous tribal people in Northeast India. With the entrance of Christian missionaries in Northeast India in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century, modern elementary education was introduced to the Hmars, which awakened their socio-economic, cultural and political consciousness.

Who is Nag caste?

Common Kayastha names include Chanda, Gupta, Nag, Aditya, Nandi, Mitra, Sil, Dhar, Kar, Datta, Rakshit, Dev, Palit, Ghosh, Bose, and Guha. However, nowadays many people of other sub-castes also frequently use these surnames.

Where do Hmar people live?

The Hmars are part of the Chin-Kuki-Mizo groups of people found in North East India, Burma and Chittagong Hill Tracts of Bangladesh.

Is Manipuri a tribal?

In Manipur, there are 33 recognized tribes that either belongs to the Nagas or the Kukis, two separate conglomerates of Manipur tribals. The biggest differences between the two populations are their separate accents, clothes, customs, and traditions.

Related Posts