Can commercial drivers take traffic school in California?

Can commercial drivers take traffic school in California?

On September 13, 2012, California Governor Jerry Brown signed into law AB 1888, which allows drivers with a commercial drivers license (CDL) to attend traffic school for minor violations that occurred in their personal vehicles.

How long does it take to get a Class B license in California?

Program Length: 3 weeks / 120 hours Class Start: Class B CDL Training classes are offered every two weeks during the day. Campus Locations: United Truck Driving School has two campus locations in California: San Diego and Riverside.

How much does it cost to get a Class B license in California?

Cost. How much does it cost? The Class-B License enrollment fee is $800.00.

Does traffic school remove ticket from record in California?

Taking a licensed traffic school course in California will prevent points from appearing on your public driving record, which prevents your insurance company from seeing them, but they will not be erased from your DMV record.

How many points can a commercial driver have in California?

California Vehicle Code Section 12810, establishes the maximum number of points any driver can accumulate before being named a Negligent Operator. No more than 4 points accumulated within a 12-month period. No more than 6 points accumulated in a 24-month period.

Is traffic school worth it in California?

You Will Save Big On Insurance. Going to traffic school means that your insurance company will not find out about your traffic ticket and your rates will be unaffected. Because of this you’ll save yourself from paying hundreds or thousands of extra dollars, keep your California Good Driver discount, and more.

How do I get my Class B license in California?

To obtain an original noncommercial Class B license – Adults must:

  1. Complete an application for a driver license (DL 44).
  2. Pay the application fee.
  3. Submit a Physician’s Health Report (DL 546A) (PDF) signed by your physician dated not more than two years prior to the date of your application.

How do I get a Class B driver’s license?

How to obtain a Class B license

  1. Research state requirements.
  2. Earn your commercial leaner’s permit (CLP).
  3. Go through a screening process.
  4. Get a Department of Transportation (DOT) physical ability card.
  5. Attend a CDL program.
  6. Complete written exam and driver’s test.

Can I take online traffic school in California?

Start by registering for California Online Traffic School and following the instructions. For convenience, you can take our course on any platform: computer, tablet, or phone. Once you’ve successfully completed the course, we’ll report your completion directly to the court, free!

How long does it take to complete online traffic school in California?

How long does traffic school take online? If you’re sitting down to start traffic school from scratch you can expect to finish in 1-3 hours. That means you can finish in a single session from the comfort of your home.

How many points does it take to lose your CDL in California?

Violation in a CMV. However, for violations in a CMV, the driver will be suspended only after six points in a 12-month period, eight points in a 24-month period, or ten points in a 36-month period. Violations occurring in a CMV are not eligible for point forgiveness through traffic school.

How much is a speeding ticket in a commercial vehicle in California?

1-15 mph over the limit is a $230-250 fine. 16-25 mph over is $360-380, and more than 26 mph over is $490-500. Truck drivers are held to a stricter standard because there is an absolute limit of 55-mph on their speed and it takes longer to slow down and stop when speeding in a truck.

When Am I not eligible for traffic school?

You are also NOT eligible for traffic school if you have gone to traffic school for another ticket that you got in the last 18 months. There are other reasons you may not be eligible for traffic school.

How do I get a Class B CDL?

Our course equips students with the skills required by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to obtain a Class B CDL with endorsements, including Hazmat, Tanker, and Passenger. Upon completion of truck driver training, students will be prepared to pass their California Class B CDL driving exam.

How do I register for a traffic school?

You can use our online traffic school list to find a traffic school in your area. You cannot attend or register for traffic schools through our website. Contact the traffic school to register. To find a traffic school… Select “Find a traffic school” to use our Occupational License Status Information System.

What can I tow with a Class B license?

With a Noncommercial Class B license: Any vehicle under Class C. Any housecar over 40′ but not over 45′, with endorsement. A single vehicle with a GVWR of 10,000 lbs. or less including a tow dolly, if used. If the towing vehicle weighs 4,000 lbs. or more unladen, you may tow a: Trailer coach not exceeding 9,000 lbs. gross.

Related Posts