How many European football championships have there been?

How many European football championships have there been?

sixteen European Championship tournaments
The sixteen European Championship tournaments have been won by ten national teams: Germany and Spain have each won three titles, Italy and France have won two titles, and the Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia, the Netherlands, Denmark, Greece and Portugal have won one title each.

What did England place in the Euros 2016?

Overall record

UEFA European Championship finals record
Year Round GF
2012 Quarter-finals 5
2016 Round of 16 4
2020 Runners-up 11

Who won the Euros 2015?

BSC Kristall
2015 Euro Winners Cup

Tournament details
Champions BSC Kristall (1st title)
Runners-up Catania BS
Third place FC Vybor
Fourth place Lokomotiv Moscow

What is the UEFA European Football Championship?

The UEFA European Football Championship, less formally the European Championship and informally the Euros, is the primary association football tournament organized by the Union of European Football Associations ( UEFA ). The competition is contested by UEFA members’ senior men’s national teams, determining the continental champion of Europe.

How many countries host the European Football Championship?

^ Pan–European edition hosted by 11 countries: Azerbaijan, Denmark, England, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Russia, Scotland and Spain. ^ “Regulations of the UEFA European Football Championship 2018–20”. Union of European Football Associations. 9 March 2018. Archived from the original on 11 May 2021.

What happens in the European Championship final?

The European Championship final is the last match of the competition, and the result determines which country’s team is declared European champion. As of the 2016 tournament, if after 90 minutes of regular play the score is a draw, an additional 30-minute period of play, called extra time, is added.

When did the 2016 Europa League play-off round start?

The losing teams in both sections entered the 2016–17 UEFA Europa League play-off round . The draw for the third qualifying round was held on 15 July 2016. The first legs were played on 26 and 27 July, and the second legs were played on 2 and 3 August 2016.

Related Posts