Is lens part of uvea?

Is lens part of uvea?

Also called uvea. Anatomy of the eye, showing the outside and inside of the eye including the eyelid, pupil, sclera, iris, cornea, lens, ciliary body, retina, choroid, vitreous humor, and optic nerve.

What is uvea of the eye?

What is the uvea? The uvea is the middle layer of the eye between the sclera (white part of the eye) and the retina (light-sensitive layer at the back of the eye). It has 3 parts: Iris (the colored part of the eye) Ciliary body (the part of the eye that helps the lens focus)

What part of the uvea controls the size of the lens?

Iris, ciliary body and choroid functions Each component of the uvea has a specific function: Iris: In addition to giving the eye its color, the iris acts like the diaphragm of a camera and controls the size of the pupil.

What is uvea part?

The uvea has 3 main parts: (1) the choroid (the tissue layer filled with blood vessels); (2) the ciliary body (the ring of tissue that contains muscles that change the shape of the lens and makes the clear fluid that fills the space between the cornea and the iris; and (3) the iris (the colored part of the eye).

What is difference between choroid and uvea?

The uvea or vascular tunic of the eye consists of the choroid, ciliary body, and iris. The choroid lies between the sclera and RPE, and contains connective tissue, capillaries, and melanocytes. The choroid terminates anteriorly as the ciliary body.

Is uvea same as iris?

The uvea comprises the iris, ciliary body, and choroid. The iris regulates light that reaches the retina, the ciliary body produces aqueous humor, and the choroid nourishes the retina. The uvea is the pigmented, middle layer of the eye.

What are the functions of uvea?

The uvea is the middle layer of the eye. It lies beneath the white part of the eye (the sclera). It is made of the iris, ciliary body, and choroid. These structures control many eye functions, including adjusting to different levels of light or distances of objects.

Related Posts